St. Andrew's School - Delaware
The Irene duPont Library
Home
Library Services
Griffin Library Catalog
Archives
How to find...
Latest Newsletter
New to the Library
SAS Online Databases
Contact a Librarian
St. Andrew's School Links
Subject Guides
Course Guides
Research Process
Plagiarism
Copyright Policy
Good Internet Resources
Landmark Citation Machine
Google Scholar
InterLibrary Loan Program
Browse Griffin Library Catalog
Irene DuPont Library > Curriculum Resources > Subject Guides > Art

Resource Guide for the Arts

Reference Books

Click here for a list of  print reference books available for the Arts.

Click below for a listing of e-reference books (online fulltext) for the Arts:

    Art and Architecture

    Performing Arts


Print Periodicals and E-Journals

There are several journals for the Arts in the Library’s Periodical Room.

American Theater
Art in America
Architectural Digest
American Photo
Ceramics Monthly
Dance Magazine
Dramatics
Jazz Improv
Premier Magazine

Click here for a list of e-journals (online fulltext) that pertain to the Arts.


SAS Databases

Click here for a list of library databases that may be particularly useful for the Arts, or go to the A-Z list of Databases for all SAS Databases.

Dewey Decimal

The Library's art books are classified according to the Dewey Decimal System in the 700 to 799 range. To search for books on the art, use the “search subject” key within the online catalog. If you are interested in browsing the shelves for books related to art, look for these books in the section located near the circulation desk.  The Dewey Decimal range is as follows: 

700 Arts
710 Landscaping & Area Planning
720 Architecture
730 Sculpture, Ceramics & Metalwork
740 Drawing & Decorative Arts
750 Painting
760 Graphic Arts
770 Photography
780 Music
790 Film, Theater, Entertainment

DVD and VHS Resources

Click here for a listing of DVD and VHS resources for the Arts.

Internet Sites

Librarian’s Choice websites…

Looking for Good Art -  Part I: Web Resources and Image Databases

Art Image Collections Online

Artcyclopedia

Women Artists: Medieval - Present

Masters of Photography

Photography Resource Library

Artist Index by Nation & Period

Music Theory Online

Contemporary Art Journal

Dance History

Contact Visitors To This Page: 352820 | ©2000 The Library Coporation

Site designed by Avatar New York