St. Andrew's School - Delaware
The Irene duPont Library
Home
Library Services
Griffin Library Catalog
Archives
How to find...
Latest Newsletter
New to the Library
SAS Online Databases
Contact a Librarian
St. Andrew's School Links
Subject Guides
Course Guides
Research Process
Plagiarism
Copyright Policy
Good Internet Resources
Landmark Citation Machine
Google Scholar
InterLibrary Loan Program
Browse Griffin Library Catalog
Irene DuPont Library > Curriculum Resources > Subject Guides > English

Resource Guide for English

Reference Books

Click here for a list of print reference books available for English Language and Literature.

Click below for a listing of e-reference (online fulltext) books for English:

    Literature

    Mythology and Folklore

    English Dictionaries and Thesauruses

    English Language Reference

    Quotations

    Timelines

    Literature Resource Center

        Encyclopedia of Literature

        Literary-Historical Timelines

Print Periodicals and E-Journals

There are several journals for English in the Library’s Periodical Room.

American Scholar
Daedalus
Raritan
Sewanee Review
Shakespeare Quarterly
The New Yorker
Poetry
Times Literary Supplement

Click here for a listing of e-journals (online fulltext) that include English Language, American Literature and English Literature studies. 

SAS Databases

Click here for a list of library databases that may be particularly useful for English, or go to the A-Z list of Databases for all SAS Databases.


Dewey Decimal

The Library's English Language and Literature books are classified according to the Dewey Decimal System in the 400 to 429.99 range (language) and the 800 to 829.99 range (literature). To search for books on English language and literature, use the “search subject” key within the online catalog. If you are interested in browsing the shelves for books related to English, those in the 400 range are located in the middle of the library, and those in the 800 range are located upstairs.  The Dewey Decimal range is as follows:

400 Language
410 Linguistics
420 English and Old English Languages

800 Literature, Rhetoric and Criticism
810 American Literature in English (Includes Poetry)
820 English and Old English Literature

DVD & VHS Resources

Click here for a listing of DVD and VHS resources for English.

Internet Sites

Librarian’s Choice websites

Grammar and Style Guides

Books Online

Bartlett's Quotations

Project Bartleby Archive - Searchable Collection Of Literature

Elements Of Style by William Strunk, Jr.

A Literary Index : A review of the more significant collections of Internet resources of interest to scholars, students and lovers of literature

Voice of the Shuttle - Literature

Atlantic Monthly Poetry Pages

Contact Visitors To This Page: 352805 | ©2000 The Library Coporation

Site designed by Avatar New York