St. Andrew's School - Delaware
The Irene duPont Library
Home
Library Services
Griffin Library Catalog
Archives
How to find...
Latest Newsletter
New to the Library
SAS Online Databases
Contact a Librarian
St. Andrew's School Links
Subject Guides
Course Guides
Research Process
Plagiarism
Copyright Policy
Good Internet Resources
Landmark Citation Machine
Google Scholar
InterLibrary Loan Program
Browse Griffin Library Catalog
Irene DuPont Library > Curriculum Resources > Subject Guides > History

Resource Guide for History

Reference Books

Click here for a list of print history reference books and social science reference books relevant for History.

Click below for e-reference books (online fulltext) for History:

    History

    Military History

    Politics & Social Sciences

    Maps and Illustrations

    Timelines

    Law


Print Periodicals and E-Journals
 

There are several journals for History in the Library’s Periodical Room.

American Heritage
American Legacy
American Prospect
American Scholar
Congressional Digest
Delaware History
Foreign Affairs
Foreign Report
History Today
Middle East Report
The Nation
New Republic
The Public Interest
Supreme Court Debates
UN Chronicle
The Weekly Standard
Wilson Quarterly
World Policy Journal

Click here for  e-journals (online fulltext) that include History & Archaelogy and Law, Government & Political studies.

 
SAS Databases

Click here for a list of library databases that may be particularly useful for History.If you need articles or information on History, please go to the A-Z list of Databases and choose a database that covers your search topic.

Dewey Decimal

The Library's history books are classified according to the Dewey Decimal System in the 900 to 999.99 range, and the Social Sciences books are in the 300 range. To search for books on history, use the “search subject” key within the online catalog. If you are interested in browsing the shelves for books related to history, they are located upstairs, and the Dewey Decimal range is as follows:

900    History
910    Geography & Travel
920    Biography & Geneology
930    History of the Ancienet World (to ca. 499 A.D.)
940    History of Europe (ca. 500 A.D. - )
950    History of Asia
960    History of Africa
970    History of North America
980    History of South America
990    History of Other Regions

The Social Sciences section is in the middle of the Library, downstairs.  The range is as follows:

300    Social Sciences, Sociology & Anthropology
310    Statistics
320    Economics
330    Law
340    Law
350    Public Administration & Military Service
360    Social Problems & Social Services


DVD & VHS Resources

Click here for a listing of DVD and VHS resources for History.

Internet Sites

Internet Public Library - Historical Documents and Sources

Internet Public Library - History by Era

Internet Public Library - History by Region

Gender History and Studies 

Early American History - Primary documents, music, movies & more

Civil War Resources on the Internet

National Archives & Records Administration

EuroDocs - Primary Historical Documents From Western Europe

Flags of the World

Guide to American Flags

World Newspapers, Magazines, and News Sites in English

 

Contact Visitors To This Page: 352818 | ©2000 The Library Coporation

Site designed by Avatar New York