St. Andrew's School - Delaware
The Irene duPont Library
Home
Library Services
Griffin Library Catalog
Archives
How to find...
Latest Newsletter
New to the Library
SAS Online Databases
Contact a Librarian
St. Andrew's School Links
Subject Guides
Course Guides
Research Process
Plagiarism
Copyright Policy
Good Internet Resources
Landmark Citation Machine
Google Scholar
InterLibrary Loan Program
Browse Griffin Library Catalog
Irene DuPont Library > Curriculum Resources > Subject Guides > Science

Resource Guide for the Sciences

Reference Books

Click here for a list of print reference books available for the Sciences.

Click below for a listing e-reference books (online fulltext) for the Sciences:

    Biological Sciences

    Earth and Environmental Sciences

    Medicine

    McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science and Technology

    Physical Sciences and Mathematics

    Science

SAS Databases

Click here for a list of library databases that may be particularly useful for the Sciences.

Print Periodicals and E-Journals

There are several magazines for the Sciences in the Library’s Periodical Room.

Astronomy
Discover
National Geographic
National Wildlife
Natural History
Nature
Outdoor Delaware
Popular Science
Science
Scientific American
Science News 
Smithsonian
Wildlife Conservation

Click here for a listing of e-journals (online fulltext) that include Earth & Environmental SciencesEngineering & Applied SciencesHealth & Biological Sciences, and Physical Sciences & Mathematics.

If you need articles or information on a certain subject, please go the A-Z list of Databases and choose a database that covers your search topic.

Dewey Decimal

The Library's science books are classified according to the Dewey Decimal System in the 500 to 599 range. To search for books on the sciences, use the “search subject” key within the online catalog. If you are interested in browsing the shelves for books related to science, they are located in the middle of the library, and the range is as follows:

500      Science
520      Astronomy
530      Physics
540      Chemistry
550      Earth Sciences & Geology
560      Fossils & Prehistoric Life
570      Biology & Life Sciences
580      Plants (Botany)
590      Animals (Zoology)

DVD & VHS Resources

Click here for a listing of DVD and VHS resources for the Sciences

Internet Sites

Librarian’s Choice websites

HighWire Press 

The New York Times Science Page

Exploratorium

Scientific Inquiry

Doing Science:  An Introduction to Physical Science

Physics:  Caltech

The Nature of Science & Biology

Envirolink

Bioscience Challenges

General Chemistry Online

Units, Measures & Dimensions

How to Write an Abstract

Contact Visitors To This Page: 352803 | ©2000 The Library Coporation

Site designed by Avatar New York